Seedpods of the Boraginaceae Family

In most members of this Family, there is no seedpod.
There are four seeds inside the calyx.

Mertensia with Seeds

The Boraginaceae Family includes the following genera:

Alkanna, Anchusa, Arnebia, Borago, Cerinthe, Cryptanthe, Cynoglossum, Echium, Eritrichium, Heliotropium, Lithospermum, Mertensia, Myosotis, Omphalodes, Pulmonaria, Rindera, Symphytum, Tournefourtia.

The ovary of plants in this Family is superior, with two parts, often becoming four with a dividing membrane. Each part has one nutlet, held upright or horizontally inside the calyx.

Some examples of seedpods of plants in this Family are:






For more information on this Plant Family, click here

Back to the Seedpods by Plant Family Main Page